选择一个测试运行器

测试运行器 (test runner) 就是运行测试的程序。

主流的 JavaScript 测试运行器有很多,但 Vue Test Utils 都能够支持。它是测试运行器无关的。

当然在我们选用测试运行器的时候也需要考虑一些事项:功能集合、性能和对单文件组件预编译的支持等。在仔细比对现有的库之后,我们推荐其中的两个测试运行器:

  • Jest 是功能最全的测试运行器。它所需的配置是最少的,默认安装了 JSDOM,内置断言且命令行的用户体验非常好。不过你需要一个能够将单文件组件导入到测试中的预处理器。我们已经创建了 vue-jest 预处理器来处理最常见的单文件组件特性,但仍不是 vue-loader 100% 的功能。

  • mocha-webpack 是一个 webpack + Mocha 的包裹器,同时包含了更顺畅的接口和侦听模式。这些设置的好处在于我们能够通过 webpack + vue-loader 得到完整的单文件组件支持,但这本身是需要很多配置的。

浏览器环境

Vue Test Utils 依赖浏览器环境。技术上讲你可以将其运行在一个真实的浏览器,但是我们并不推荐,因为在不同的平台上都启动真实的浏览器是很复杂的。我们推荐取而代之的是用 JSDOM 在 Node 虚拟浏览器环境运行测试。

Jest 测试运行器自动设置了 JSDOM。对于其它测试运行器来说,你可以在你的测试入口处使用 jsdom-global 手动设置 JSDOM。

npm install --save-dev jsdom jsdom-global

// 在测试的设置 / 入口中
require('jsdom-global')()

测试单文件组件

Vue 的单文件组件在它们运行于 Node 或浏览器之前是需要预编译的。我们推荐两种方式完成编译:通过一个 Jest 预编译器,或直接使用 webpack。

vue-jest 预处理器支持基本的单文件组件功能,但是目前还不能处理样式块和自定义块,这些都只在 vue-loader 中支持。如果你依赖这些功能或其它 webpack 特有的配置项,那么你需要基于 webpack + vue-loader 进行设置。

对于不同的设置方式请移步下面的教程:

相关资料

Choosing a test runner

A test runner is a program that runs tests.

There are many popular JavaScript test runners, and Vue Test Utils works with all of them. It's test runner agnostic.

There are a few things to consider when choosing a test runner though: feature set, performance, and support for single-file component (SFC) pre-compilation. After carefully comparing existing libraries, here are two test runners that we recommend:

  • Jest is the most fully featured test runner. It requires the least configuration, sets up JSDOM by default, provides built-in assertions, and has a great command line user experience. However, you will need a preprocessor to be able to import SFC components in your tests. We have created the vue-jest preprocessor which can handle most common SFC features, but it currently does not have 100% feature parity with vue-loader.

  • mocha-webpack is a wrapper around webpack + Mocha, but with a more streamlined interface and watch mode. The benefits of this setup is that we can get complete SFC support via webpack + vue-loader, but it requires more configuration upfront.

Browser Environment

Vue Test Utils relies on a browser environment. Technically you can run it in a real browser, but it's not recommended due to the complexity of launching real browsers on different platforms. Instead, we recommend running the tests in Node with a virtual browser environment using JSDOM.

The Jest test runner sets up JSDOM automatically. For other test runners, you can manually set up JSDOM for the tests using jsdom-global in the entry for your tests:

npm install --save-dev jsdom jsdom-global

// in test setup / entry
require('jsdom-global')()

Testing Single-File Components

Single-file Vue components (SFCs) require pre-compilation before they can be run in Node or in the browser. There are two recommended ways to perform the compilation: with a Jest preprocessor, or directly use webpack.

The vue-jest preprocessor supports basic SFC functionalities, but currently does not handle style blocks or custom blocks, which are only supported in vue-loader. If you rely on these features or other webpack-specific configurations, you will need to use a webpack + vue-loader based setup.

Read the following guides for different setups:

Resources